What's Inspected During A Home Inspection

What does a home inspection include? 

Areas typically inspected include:

  • Grounds
  • Exterior-Foundation-Crawlspace 
  • Roof System-Attic (if safe and accessible)
  • Chimney-Fireplace
  • Plumbing-Water Heater
  • Heating-Air Conditioning
  • Electrical Systems
  • Interior Components
  • Kitchen-Appliances-Laundry
  • Bathrooms
  • Garage-Carport

Occupants items are NOT moved or disturbed by the Inspector during the inspection process. Areas that are blocked, concealed or obstructed by occupants belongings cannot be adequately inspected.

A typical home inspection lasts about three hours but of course the time will vary dependent on the specific property.

The American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI) publishes a Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics that outlines what you should expect to be covered in your home inspection report.